Book Review – Secrets of Savvy Etsy Sellers

 

I recently opened an Etsy shop.  I had (and still have) no idea what I’m doing.  It’s not as simple as just uploading a product, a few photos and ta-daa!  It does take some effort.  Getting your shop and products noticed is hard work.  And especially for Book-Inz.  You see, Book-Inz is an item that must be seen and demonstrated to truly be appreciated.  No amount of amazing photography or modeling can take the place of actually seeing the magical Book-Inz in action.  So when I saw this e-book from On The Dot Creations offered for FREE (I LOVE FREE!), I decided to download and print it out for more ideas.

What I got is a handy booklet set out in numbered tips, tricks and hints from successful Etsians.  And I like the layout.  It makes sense.  The tips, tricks and hints are grouped by topics, such as photography, packaging, marketing, etc.  While this e-book was meant to be read online (there are links to the various contributing Etsians), I am a tactile person.  I need to be holding the book in my hands while I read –  (see my Random Thoughts post from a few weeks ago.) 

What I like about this e-book is that I did learn some things I could be doing better.  I have read so many crafty business books, including some specializing in Etsy shops, that I feel like I have addressed everything I need to address.  As usual (you’d think I’d have learned by now), I was so wrong! 

While I’m not going to share with you every tip, you need to download your own copy (show On The Dot Creations some link love!), I will share with you my most favorite tip.  And it’s ranked higher than all others because it was so obvious, I wondered why I hadn’t thought of it before!

My favorite tip: Packaging.  Use packaging that can be reused.  For example, Book-Inz has just started using kraft pillow boxes for shipping.  They are labelled with our fabulous logo and website address.  But I wasn’t thinking of the packaging in terms of reuse, I was thinking of the packaging in terms of presentation.  And yet at home, I reuse gift bags and boxes all the time.  So why wouldn’t I think my customers won’t do the same?  Fabulous tip and one I need to think more on.

I hope you take the time to read Secrets of Savvy Etsy Sellers.  It was a helpful and quick read.  Which is great if you’re a crafter with little time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book-Inz, Books and Authors, Crafty Business, Other Handmade Artisans

Leave a Reply

