My Favorite Authors – Paulo Coelho

If you haven’t already figured out that I LOVE to read, well, I just don’t know what to say!

I LOVE to read.  I especially love to read books that make me think.  About my life, my choices, my dreams…Paulo Coelho is a writer who does just that.

Now, I have heard it said that he’s a fluffy, feel-good, hoodoo, new age kind of author.  And while I can see where they might make that connection, I beg to differ.  He is a make-your-dreams-come-true kind of author.  And if that makes him a touchy-feely new ager, then so be it.  I still don’t think so.

Paulo Coelho writes stories that make you think with not only your mind but your heart. Are you really where you want to be in this life?  If not, why not?  What would it take to get you there?

His first novella is called The Alchemist.  Not because of science.  But because of the way the character transforms his life into something so magnificent.  (Now, I refer to Coelho’s books as novellas, but that’s only because I am used to reading big, many paged books whereas Coelho writes smaller, fewer pages.  Not that he can’t say what he needs to say in those fewer pages, I just don’t want you to get the wrong idea when looking into his writings.)  The next several books following lead you to think he is leading you somewhere with his writing.  And indeed, about book 7, I caught a blurb in the back about how he has been writing about the different limbs on the tree of life.  Change, Life, Love, Tolerance…all issues we have struggled with at one time or another.  He writes with a thoughtful heart.  A generous heart.  He brings an openness to subjects not normally discussed in lighter writings.

While all of his books are worthy of bookshelf space in my library, my favorites are Veronika Decides To Die, The Alchemist, By The River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept and Eleven Minutes.  There is something in his words that makes me struggle to achieve, to grow, to become all that I am supposed to be.  And it’s not new ager, touchy feel good stuff, either.

I LOVE Paulo Coelho.  I am currently reading two of his books simultaneously – The Witch of Portobello and Winner Stands Alone.  If you’ve read or are reading Coelho, let me know what you think.  I’d love to meet fellow fans of his writings.

6 Comments

Filed under Book-Inz, Books and Authors

6 responses to “My Favorite Authors – Paulo Coelho

  1. I always love to find other reading enthusiast’s blogs. I intend to take some of your advice and look into a few of the books you advised. There aren’t many book-lovers left! Keep the spirit alive.

  2. Pingback: Paulo Coelho « Brazi Iindustry Profession

  3. Pingback: Paulo Coelho « Hollywood in the Hood

  4. saba anas

    This is really good….I appreciate u…..I could use this at scool …my teacher also liked it a lot …. hats off …. 🙂 ….. thnx 🙂 🙂

  5. saba anas

    Keep it up !!! ♡

  6. saba anas

    I am currently reading brida …..it very nyc …. U HAVE TO READ IT !!!!

Leave a Reply

