Happy Valentine’s Day!

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I’m going to tell you about my absolute FAVORITE love story in the whole world!  It’s a bodice ripper.  Yes.  I read them.  And this one is the very best of any I’ve ever read.

And it holds a place of honor on my bookshelf.  Yes, I have romances on my bookshelf.  Regency romances, no less.  I LOVE them.  I’ve always wondered if I was born in the wrong century…then again, I happen to enjoy the time I’m living in now. *shrug*

On to the WHY:

I laughed till I cried.  I cried till my chest hurt.  Judith McNaught wrote words that pulled deep from my emotions and I connected to this book like no other.  There is something to be said about a passionate reader and the day I started this book, I became even more passionate. The first few chapters of Stephenie Meyer’s New Moon, where it’s just blank pages under each month’s heading – that emptiness, the longing, the hurt. Remember those feelings? I felt those in spades while reading Whitney, My Love.  And then her final triumph brought incredible joy…I’ve yet to experience a love story like this from any other author.  Not to say McNaught’s other historical romances aren’t great, I happen to own them all, yet Whitney, My Love is the only one that’s ever pulled that kind of feeling from me.

This is how a love story should be written.  It’s not easy to hook me and it’s even harder to keep me hooked, yet Judith McNaught wrote the most exquisitely timeless love story I’ve ever experienced.  Go see if your local library or Half Price Books has a copy, get lost in love, and thank me later!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment

Filed under Book-Inz, Books and Authors, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

