Book-Inz Reads: by the time you read this

by the time you read this by Lola Jaye is incredibly moving.  A dying father decides to write out a book for his young daughter, to be read each year on her birthday that he won’t be in attendance.  She was five when he received his terminal diagnosis.

She wasn’t given The Manual until she was 12.

by the time you read this

As I read this book and related what was going in her life to what her father had written, I was reminded of my own father.  His steady patience with me has finally paid off and I felt sorrow that she wouldn’t get that feeling of making her father proud.

There are moments in the book that remind me of how stubborn and hard-headed I was as a young adult and this poignant portrayal of a father’s love for his daughter is spellbinding.

I dare you to put it down before finding out how it ends.  I stayed up into the wee hours with a flashlight to finish it!

Let me know what you think of Lola Jaye’s novel.  Keep Calm and Read On!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Book-Inz, Books and Authors

One response to “Book-Inz Reads: by the time you read this

  1. Pingback: By The Time You Read This by Lola Jaye « arlasworld